Welcome 2017!

Last night was a rough stock event at Crossroads Arena in Penrose, CO. I met some intimidation when I got there; a veteran rodeo photographer. Fortunately, he was friendly. A man named Tim Brown. And, he was kind enough to share some insight, plus his story.

We chatted for awhile, mostly discussing the lighting. Mechanics discuss torque and big blocks, photographers discuss lighting and ISO’s. It’s a thing, seriously. None the less, for a rodeo contestant that arena is a dream, but for a photographer, the lighting is a test of skill, patience and mostly luck. 

I don’t really believe in luck, so I took my humble self to the corner and prayed. “God, help me. Please.” I had one hour to set my camera as best as I could for what I was facing. High speed action in a low light setting. 

It dawned on me while I was pushing buttons and doing test shots, that as I’ve pressed into new territory during 2016, ive spoken those words over and over, “God, help me. Please.” And, He has. 

By nature, I’m an introvert and am by no means the person you will find zip-lining for a thrill. It took hours of pep talk, for my family to get me on a tube in the river this past summer. I like the familiar. Period. This job I do has meant I have learned something; if I want to work, I have to step into every scenario alone. Scared or not, saying, “God help me. Please.”

Today, is a new day and the beginning of a new year. There will be many of those prayers coming up, because I have no intention of letting go of my dreams. Every ounce of me is uncomfortable. But, a plan is in front of me, and all I can do is, go do it. 

I’ve now met enough photographers in my field to realize, I can only learn more from them, because they are so very skilled. They have more experience than I do, so I listen to every word they say. A free education is the best one. It’s through me walking past my fears and taking advice from these wonderful people, that stepping into 2017 means I’m going in a little better than I was yesterday.

If I can do it, anyone can. All you have to do is let go a little bit and take one step, even if that step is saying, “God help me. Please.” 

Blessings to all and welcome to 2017. Let’s make it a good one!

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2017!

  1. I love this. I literally tensed as you drew me into your fear and then into your trusting, childlike faith in the Lord to guide you further into your dream. Those professionals are not there by accident but by Divine appointment. The day just might come when you will turn around and see someone, just as you are today…fearful but admiring you and gratefully humbled by the things you can teach them. Only a few couple of years ago you began snapping shots of things your developing eye captured. You have moved on to some of the greatest actions shots! I am so proud of you and I am so proud of God for you! And I LOVE your blog! You write as well as you photograph!

    Like

    • Thank you! I hope I’m always as kind to others, as these with greater experience have been with me.

      I know where credit is due, and there are a lot of other people that will get mentioned in time, too.

      Writing has been my long lost friend. It has certainly come down through the generations! You’re very gifted, too, and it’s a God given ability for sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

